Taper and rest… bah humbug…..

https://www.gofundme.com/cleanwaterhelo

So after 16 weeks of long, hard, hot training…. it is time to rest, refuel, and get ready for the “big run”.  This is often the hardest part of all for me.  I know how important recovery is, but I don’t know what to do with my time and my energy!  Spending 2-3 hours a day running, then another hour stretching and rehabbing has become my routine.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I am a lifelong insomniac…. exercise helps!  Now what?

taper

Ken: “It’s pretty sad that we have to stage a photo of you relaxing”

I read some good books last week, and I started planning for our trip to Haiti, but honestly I’m ready to go.  The weather looks beautiful this weekend- low of 40 and high of 70.  It will be chilly when we start out, but warm up nicely as the day goes on.

There’s been another slight change of plan.  Christine’s hip has not gotten better, so we dropped from the 50 mile to the 50K a couple weeks ago.  Now she has decided that she really shouldn’t run 32 miles either.  Being the loyal friend and training buddy that she is,  our plan now is to drive to Ascutney (site of the race) on Saturday, go for a short hike (just enough to sleep that night!), have a great dinner with “our guys” and on Sunday Christine will run the first 12 miles with me.  The 12 mile point is where the first “handler” station is, so her husband can meet her there.  I convinced her that this is not dropping out, it is being smart, taking care of herself so that she doesn’t aggrivate her injury further, and of course, being a great friend.  All runners are allowed a “pacer” for the last 10 miles.  At mile 22, Ken will meet me and finish the race with me.  I hope he doesn’t think for a second, however,

that he is setting the pace!  Goodwin Forest Run

I’m so thankful for this opportunity.  I am lucky to have my health, lucky to have such great friends and family, and of course, lucky to have free access to clean water whenever I need it.  Thank you to Janji,inc for the great team singlet that I will be wearing in the race, and to Generation UCAN for fueling my journey.

Leave a Reply

